Rome, Italy 2019!

Hey guys! It’s me, B! Today I am coming at you with my third and final blog post about my trip to Italy. Let’s get started!

Friday, June 7:

We arrived to Rome by train, and checked into our hotel, Hotel 47, which I highly recommend!! The location is great! Next, we walked around exploring and had lunch across the Tiber River. Then, we walked around and got fresh squeezed juice in a open air market right before visiting the Pantheon. After this visit, we got gelato, and I got mint, and it was the BEST mint flavored gelato/ice cream I’ve ever had in my life, and of course, this is one of the few restaurants I didn’t get the name to :((. After this snack break, we went to the Trevi Fountain, which was beautiful! Then, we walked back to the River, where they were having a “festival” with pop-up shops, restaurants, and games, where we had dinner. This “festival” goes on all summer. The restaurant we ate at was called Taqueria El Paso… a Mexican restaurant… in Italy! I know, you are probably judging right now, but we had to take a break from pizza and pasta. After dinner, we headed back to the hotel for the night.

Saturday, June 8:

We started our day early at the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter’s Basilica. These three places were amazing, but the most crowded places I went this whole trip by far. Once again, we got reserved tickets, and I cannot recommend this enough! The line was two hours long, if you didn’t get a reservation. After the Vatican, we were STARVING, so we went to lunch and got pizza. After lunch, we went into the castle and took some pictures, it was pretty cool! Then, we went to a place called Marcantonio for a snack, and it was really good. Then, we took a break at our hotel for a little bit. Before we knew it, it was dinner time! We actually ate at the restaurant on top of our hotel this night, and it was delicious. Then, we went on a tour of the city at night, which was beautiful! After the tour, we went back to our hotel for the night.

Sunday, June 9:

This was our last full day in Rome, so my dad and I took full advantage of it. We woke up at 5:30 in attempt to see the sunrise, but unfortunately, we were too late, so we ended up just walking around Rome taking pictures between 6-8am. We went to lots of the famous sights and let me tell you, if you are a blogger, or you just are really passionate about getting THE picture, I would say wake up early as there are barely any tourists. After our morning stroll, my dad and I went and got coffee and hot chocolate at a little restaurant near our hotel called Martin. After this, we headed back to our hotel for breakfast. After breakfast, we went into some museums and churches, which there are TONS of in Rome!! Next, we walked around the Forum, before my mom became a *little* hangry, therefore we went back to Martin for lunch and a snack! After this refuel, we went to the Coliseum, which was awesome! Then, we took an Uber to this place my mom wanted to go, and long story short, it was closed, so we ended up walking around this town completely lost and almost got hit by some cars… but we are still here so we obviously survived!! Then, we crossed the Tiber River for dinner, at a restaurant called Carlomenta. Y’all this restaurant was our favorite of the whole trip, and it was the cheapest!! After dinner, we got our final gelato and headed to the hotel for the night.

The next day, we flew home, and just like that, the trip was over!! I am so thankful that I went on this trip, and I am beyond blessed to have the parents that I do! That’s all for today!

-B

Leave a comment